Documents & Reports  |   Governance and Administration  |   Employment  |   Contact    

Board of Governance
Organizational Chart
Board Functions
Schedule of Meetings
Meeting Agendas, Minutes & Resolutions

Board of Governance

The VRFA's nine-member Board of Governance is comprised of the Mayors and two City Council members from each of the participating cities.


  The Honorable David Hill, Vice-Chairman of the Board and Mayor of the City of Algona.  He has been a resident of Algona for over 13 years, having moved his accounting and tax business there in the fall of 1997. Mayor Hill's wife, Susan, teaches mathematics at Auburn High School, and they have a daughter and two grandchildren. Prior to serving on Algona's City Council, Mayor Hill had been actively involved in local issues for many years. Mayor Hill has served on the Governance Board since January 2007.
The Honorable Lynda Osborn, City Councilmember from Algona, has lived in Algona for over 45 years. She has two daughters, six grandchildren and one great granddaughter. Lynda is retired from Bank of America. She was Algona's treasurer for 9½ years and previously served as an Algona City Council member for two terms. Lynda serves as the Chair of the VRFA's Finance Committee.
The Honorable Troy Linnell has been a member of Algona City Council since 2016. He and his wife have been residents of Algona for nine years, having previously lived in Auburn for 25 years. Councilmember Linnell was appointed to the VRFA Board of Governance in January 2016.



The Honorable Nancy Backus, was elected to her first term as mayor in 2014 and is the first female to hold the office in Auburn. Backus has served on the Auburn City Council since 2003 and spent the last two years as deputy mayor. In her most recent assignments as a councilmember, she served as Chair of Planning and Community Development, Council Operations, Committee of the Whole, and was Chair of the Finance Committee for nine years. Nancy serves as a member of the VRFA Finance Committee. She has spent the last 24 years at the Boeing Company in finance and accounting roles and left her role of Financial Operations Manager for the company's Commercial Airplane Group to take the office of mayor.

The Honorable Bill Peloza has served on the Auburn City Council since January 2004 and was re-elected for his third term that began in 2012. He is currently Chair of the Municipal Services Committee and Vice-Chair of the Public Works Committee and has served on the Finance Committee and LEOFF Board. In addition, he serves on numerous Regional Committees. Peloza attended the University of Washington School of Business and UCLA, specializing in Government Contract Management. He retired from The Boeing Company with 38 years of service. Bill's professional career was in Contracts Management with emphasis in finance/budgets, cost and schedule performance and contract negotiations. Peloza became a member of the VRFA Board of Governance in January 2014.
The Honorable Claude DaCorsi started his term of office on the Auburn City Council in January 2014. He has over 20 years of experience in public works procurement and contract administration. In 2015 he retired as the Director of Capital Construction for the King County Housing Authority. He was the former Director of Construction and Development for the Grant County Housing Authority. He has over 40 years of construction management and executive management experience. DaCorsi has a Master's Degree in Public Administration (MPA) with a specialization in government from Seattle University and a Bachelor's Degree in Business Management magna cum laude from Northwest University. Councilmember DaCorsi was appointed to the VRFA Board of Governance in January 2016.


  The Honorable Leanne Guier, Chairman of the Board, is the Mayor of Pacific. She has served on the City Council since 2009 and was appointed Mayor in July of 2013 prior to being elected Mayor effective 2016. She has been a resident of Pacific for 17 years. Prior to her appointment to Mayor, Leanne served on the Human Services Committee, Finance Committee, Public Safety Committee, as well as a representative for Pacific at Sound Cities Association’s Public Issues Committee. Leanne was promoted to Business Development Specialist for the United Association of Plumbers and Pipefitters Local 32 after working 15 years construction as a Steamfitter. She has a daughter who graduated from Auburn Riverside in 2007.
The Honorable David Storaasli is a member of the City of Pacific Council and joined the VRFA Board in January 2017. In addition Member Storaasli will serve on the VRFA Finance Committee.
The Honorable Kerry Garberding is a member of the City of Pacifc Council and joined the VRFA Board in February 2016.

©2018 Valley Regional Fire Authority

Site Map  |   Privacy Notice